Naming Routes & Becoming Sponsered

Standard

So the other day I was putting together a small list of routes that I climbed because I wanted to apply for a sponsorship. I have climbed a lot of routes in the past ranging from 5.7-5.12. The problem that I ran into is that I have climbed so many routes and I didn’t want to write down everyone of them because I could be there for a while. That’s why I decided to send them my most recent. While trying to put together this list I realized that I have climbed almost every wall in Snake Den (that does not include bouldering). I wasn’t sure of the name of every route that I climbed so I decided to go to a site called http://www.climbri.org/. When I was going through all the routes I noticed that some of the ones that I had climbed were called “no name” and some of them, like Toast Master 5.11, had a really cool name. While looking a the site I noticed that it was very outdated but people still use it regularly.  So maybe the routes are named and they just haven’t been updated on the site but it really bothered me that I had to tell people that I climbed “No Name” a 5.9. I would love to come up with a name for the few routes that are called “No Name” in Snake Den but I don’t want to be stepping on anyones toes who already call it something else. I guess it’s a kind of touchy situation. I actually am graduating this weekend with a Bachelor Degree in Graphics and Web Design so I should contact the owner of this site and see if he needs his site updated haha.

Well now that my rant is over I guess it’s time to inform all my followers that I did indeed geScreen Shot 2016-04-27 at 8.35.02 PM.pngt the sponsorship with OnSight Gear! They’re a really cool climbing gear company based in California. They make three different colored chalks to match different rock types and then they make the classic white. I really like the fact that they make different colored chalk because if more people used it there wouldn’t be any white spots all of the walls from climbers since it will blend in with the rock. Here in little RI most of the rock is a dark gray so the classic white chalk stands out a lot. I plan on buying some to sample off to some people in my area so they can see how it works first hand. It’s some really cool stuff.

Leave a comment